Berkeley Lifford Hall Accountancy ServicesAlphabiolabsHousing Law WeekIQ Legal Training

Three new appointments to the Supreme Court

Lady Justice Arden DBE, Lord Justice Kitchin and Lord Justice Sales to be made Justices

It has been announced that Lady Justice Arden DBE and Lord Justice Kitchin will join the Supreme Court as Justices on 1 October 2018, followed by Lord Justice Sales on 11 January 2019.

Lady Hale, President of the Supreme Court, welcomed the appointments, saying:

"I am delighted that the Supreme Court will be joined by three new Justices in the coming months, each of whom has led a distinguished judicial career. I congratulate Lady Justice Arden DBE, Lord Justice Kitchin and Lord Justice Sales on their appointments and am confident that they will each make a significant contribution to the work of the Court and the development of the law."

These appointments follow the retirement of Lord Mance, former Deputy President of the Court, in June 2018. Lord Hughes and Lord Sumption are due to retire in August and December 2018 respectively.

Last year, Lady Justice Arden was one of three Court of Appeal judges in Steinfeld & Keidan v Secretary of State for Education [2017] EWCA Civ 81, who found that the government's position in respect of civil partnerships for heterosexual couples constituted a potential violation of the appellants' rights under Article 8 and Article 14 of the ECHR. Dissenting from her fellow judges, Lady Justice Arden further held that the Secretary of State's policy of 'wait and see' did not provide sufficient justification for the potential discrimination. The Supreme Court gave judgment in that case this week.

For the Supreme Court's announcement and biographies of the new Justices, click here.