Berkeley Lifford Hall Accountancy ServicesIQ Legal Training

Nominations sought for 2014 Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards

Nominations close 1st April

The Legal Aid Practitioners Group (LAPG) is inviting nominations for the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year (LALY) awards. You have until the 1st April 2014 to make a nomination. The nomination form is here.

This year sees the introduction of new award categories including Family Mediation and Legal Aid Champion.

Carol Storer, director of LAPG, says:

"After a turbulent and difficult year for practitioners, the Legal Aid Champion award is aimed at recognising campaigners and others who have fought so hard to protect the scheme and the clients it serves."

LAPG has organised the LALY awards every year since 2003 on a not-for-profit basis.

The judging panel will be chaired by Lord Justice Andrew McFarlane, who has been a long-term supporter of the awards. He will be joined this year by the former DPP Keir Starmer QC, and journalist and Independent columnist Owen Jones, along with other leading legal figures.

Nominations are being sought in 11 categories including Family legal aid, Family mediation (sponsored by Resolution), legal aid firm/Not for profit Agency (sponsored by the Law Society), Legal aid newcomer (sponsored by Co-operative Legal Services), Legal aid barrister (sponsored by Irwin Mitchell) and Legal aid champion (sponsored by 1 King's Bench Walk).

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in central London on the 5th June.