Family Law Week Email Subscription1 Garden CourtAlpha Biolabs

Baljit Bains and Tracy Winstanley win LALY awards

Resolution members Baljit Bains of Wilson Solicitors LLP and Tracy Winstanley of Heaney Watson were each awarded the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Award as Family Legal Aid Lawyer and Family Mediator respectively.

The LALYs, run by the Legal Aid Practitioners Group (LAPG) are legal aid's most prestigious event and exist to honour the often unsung champions of the legal profession who do so much to support some of society's most vulnerable people.

The awards are now in their fourteenth year. Resolution sponsored the Family Legal Aid Lawyer and Family Mediation categories.

Legal Aid Practitioners Group director Carol Storer said:

"LAPG is proud to organise the LALY awards on behalf of the entire profession. Like Resolution, we are committed to recognising and inspiring excellence among legal aid lawyers. This is our 14th year, and the calibre of 2016 entrants remains impressively high, and a tribute to the vital and life-changing work that legal aid lawyers do every day of their working lives.

"Nowhere is this demonstrated more clearly than in the two family categories, where the commitment of the finalists to protecting children and families is quite outstanding. This is difficult, demanding and important work, and LAPG is pleased to be able to give family legal aid lawyers and mediators the recognition they deserve."

Resolution chair Nigel Shepherd said:

"I'd like to extend warm congratulations to all of the winners and finalists at last night's LALY awards and in particular Resolution's Baljit and Tracy, for their fantastic achievement. They are both great ambassadors for the values that Resolution promotes.

"The work legal aid practitioners do is vital to ensuring that our society remains just and fair. The cuts to legal aid funding have had a profound impact on the profession, but it's people like those recognised at the LALYs who work tirelessly to ensure that vulnerable and disadvantaged people continue to have access to justice."

For more details of the winners of all disciplines and of the awards ceremony, please click here.